Topics

Topics

Environmental Taxation:
The German state generates nearly two thirds of its finances by levying taxes on the labour factor. Environmental and resource use factors account for about 5 % of government finances. This endangers jobs and rewards consumption of natural resources. Environmental tax reform will correct this disparity by shifting the focus of taxes and levies.


Emissions Trading:
Emissions trading reduces the amount of greenhouse gas emissions. The biggest polluters must purchase certificates in order to attain emission rights for CO2. Through emission trading a price and an upper limit can be set for greenhouse gas emissions, which have, up until recently, been permitted free of charge. The upper limit of green house gases can then be gradually reduced.



Environmentally Harmful Subsidies:
The German state spends about 50 billion Euros annually in environmentally harmful subsidies. This is a burden on nature as well as on tax payers. Environmentally harmful behaviour is rewarded through these subsidies and the costs are borne by the general public.


Environmental Procurement:
In Germany the state is the biggest consumer and therefore has a particular responsibility for creating an ecologically sustainable economy. It must lead by example and consider both ecological and social criteria in government purchases.

Transport:
Transport contributes considerably to problems such as land use, noise, air pollution and climate change. The costs caused by road traffic are still far higher than taxes imposed on drivers. Air traffic, the most environmentally harmful means of transportation, remains artificially inexpensive due to the fact that it is largely exempt from taxation.
Nuclear Energy:
Nuclear energy is a particularly risky form of energy production. Nonetheless, the nuclear sector has already received billions of Euros in subsidies. At the moment the nuclear energy industry is benefiting additionally from many economic advantages.

Agriculture:
Agricultural subsidies are higher than those to any other sector. Only a small fraction of these subsidies are environmentally beneficial. The way that land is used in farming has a strong impact on nature. In Germany 55 % of surface area is used for agriculture and 30 % for forestry.
Land use:
Every day approximately 118 hectares (about the size of 230 football fields) of land area is used in Germany. More and more land is needed for traffic infrastructure or the expansion of housing, even though the population of Germany is decreasing. This is partly due to the fact that financial incentives have up until now favoured intensive land use by municipalities.
 



Green Keynesianism:
The German federal government is giving out billions of Euros in order to save banks and to boost the economy. Unfortunately, environmental and social aspects are not considered in the process. GBG demands that the economic stimulus package for measures supporting the reorganization of the economy be used to promote ecological and social sustainability and that environmentally oriented fiscal instruments take precedence.

Themen

Themen


Ökologische Steuerreform:
Heute finanziert sich der Staat zu fast zwei Dritteln dadurch, dass er den Faktor Arbeit durch Steuern und Abgaben belastet. Der Faktor Umwelt- bzw. Ressourcenverbrauch trägt mit rund 5 % zur Staatsfinanzierung bei. So werden Arbeitsplätze gefährdet und Umweltverschmutzung belohnt. Die Ökologische Steuerreform will dieses Missverhältnis durch eine Umschichtung der Steuer- und Abgabenlast abbauen.


Umweltschädliche Subventionen:
Der Staat gibt heute ca. 50 Mrd. Euro jährlich für umweltschädliche Subventionen in Deutschland aus. Das belastet die Natur und die Steuerzahler. Umweltschädliches Verhalten wird so belohnt und die Kosten der Allgemeinheit aufgebürdet.


Emissionshandel:
Der Emissionshandel begrenzt den Ausstoß von Treibhausgasen. Großemittenten müssen Rechte in Form von Zertifikaten erwerben um CO2 ausstoßen zu dürfen. Dadurch bekommt der bisher kostenlose Ausstoß von Treibhausgasen einen Preis und eine absolute Grenze. Diese Grenze kann schrittweise abgesenkt werden.




Ökologische Beschaffung:
Der Staat trägt als größter Konsument in der Bundesrepublik eine besondere Verantwortung für ökologisches Wirtschaften. Er muss daher mit gutem Beispiel voran gehen und ökologische wie soziale Kriterien für die öffentliche Beschaffung berücksichtigen.


Atomenergie:
Atomenergie ist eine besonders riskante Art der Energieerzeugung. Trotzdem flossen bereits zig Milliarden Euro Subventionen in diesen Bereich. Auch heute noch profitiert die Atomindustrie von zahlreichen finanziellen Vorteilen.

Verkehr:
Der Verkehr trägt wesentlich zu Umweltproblemen wie Flächenverbrauch, Lärm, Luftverschmutzung und dem Klimawandel bei. Die Kosten die gerade der Autoverkehr verursacht, übersteigen immer noch bei Weitem die Steuern, die von Autofahrern zu zahlen sind. Die umweltschädlichste Art der Fortbewegung - das Fliegen - wird dabei durch weitgehende Steuerfreiheit künstlich verbilligt.



Landwirtschaft:
Kein Sektor empfängt so viele Subventionen wie die Landwirtschaft - der geringste Teil dieser Subventionen ist ökologisch vorteilhaft. Gleichzeitig hat die Art der landwirtschaftlichen Flächennutzung einen sehr großen Einfluss auf die Natur - immerhin sind 55% der Fläche in Deutschland landwirtschaftlich und 30% forstwirtschaftlich genutzt.

Flächenverbrauch:
Jeden Tag werden in Deutschland rund 118 Hektar Fläche verbraucht - das entspricht der Größe von etwa 230 Fußballfeldern. Immer mehr Fläche wird durch Verkehrswege oder die Ausweitung von Siedlungen versiegelt, obwohl die Bevölkerung in Deutschland rückläufig ist. Das liegt auch daran, dass die finanziellen Anreize bisher Gemeinden mit höherem Flächenverbrauch bevorzugen.

Grüner Keynesianismus:
Die Bundesregierung gibt derzeit Milliarden für die Rettung von Banken und die Stützung der Konjunktur aus. Ökologische und soziale Belange sind hierbei leider deutlich zu kurz gekommen. Das FÖS fordert, die Potentiale von Konjunktur stützenden Maßnahmen für den ökologisch-sozialen Umbau der Wirtschaft stärker zu nutzen und bei der Gegenfinanzierung bevorzugt auf ökofiskalische Instrumente zurückzugreifen.