Advisory Board

Advisory board

Federal minister (ret.) Hans Eichel (Chair)
Hans Eichel was appointed Chair of the GBG advisory board in 2016. He served as Federal Minister of Finance in Germany from 1999 to 2005 as member of the Red-green coalition. Eichel started his political career as Mayor of Kassel to become Prime Minister of Hesse and President of the German Bundesrat. Eichel currently leads the expert group on sustainable structural development for the Friedrich-Ebert-Foundation. www.hans-eichel-kassel.de

Dr. Anselm Görres (GBG Honorary chairman)
Anselm Görres is an economist, owner and CEO of ZMM - ZeitManager-Muenchen GmbH. From 1984 to 1991 he was consultant for McKinsey & Co., from 1991 to 1993 investor and manager of the Unternehmensgruppe Ostberlin. Since 1994 he has been managing and coaching interim managers. He is a founding board member of GBG and has been serving as director from 2000 to 2016. In 1994 he was the lead author of the first FÖS-Memorandum. After leaving the executive board he was appointed honorary chairman and vice-chair of the advisory board.

Ingrid Arndt-Brauer, MdB
Since 1999 Ingrid Arndt-Brauer is member of the German Bundestag (SPD), where she is member and chairwoman of the Finance Committee as well as substitute member of the Budget Committee. Since 2009 Arndt-Brauer is board member of the SPD parliamentary group. (Picture: dbt, Stella von Saldern) www.arndt-brauer.de

Prof. Dr. Hans Christoph Binswanger
Hans Christoph Binswanger is an economist and developed the idea of ecological taxation. Until his retirement, he taught economics at the University of St. Gallen. At times he also served as Director of the Institute of Economics (FGN-HSG), as well as director of the Institute for Economy and the Environment (IWOE-HSG).

Dr. Karl-Heinz Daehre
Karl-Heinz Daehre is State Minister (ret.) (CDU). From 2002 to 2011 he was Minister for Regional Development and Transport and from 1991 to 1994 Minister for Regional Development, Urban Development and Housing of Saxony-Anhalt. Karl-Heinz Daehre was president of the expert commission on the future of the transport infrastructure funding, which presented its final report in 2012.

Dr. Henner Ehringhaus
For many years Dr. Ehringhaus was chairman of the board of the GLS Bank eG and GLS Beteiligungs AG and is currently Vice Chairman of the Board of New Energies Invest AG (Bank Sarasin). He is a founding member and was president of GBG from 1994 to 2000.

Sven Giegold, MdEP
Since 2009 Sven Giegold is member of the European Parliament, spokesperson of the German Green group and coordinator of The Greens/ EFA in the Economic and Monetary Affairs committee. He is Co-founder of the green business centre Ökologischen Zentrums in Verden (Lower Saxony) with 50 jobs created in ecological enterprises and social initiatives, of the Green housing co-operative AllerWohnen eG, a co-initiator of finance watch and the Tax Justice Network. www.sven-giegold.de

Josef Göppel, MdB
Since 2002 Josef Göppel is member of the German Bundestag (CSU). The trained forester has been leading the environmental working group of his party since 1991, and since 2005 he is spokesperson of his parliamentary group in the Committee on the Environment. www.goeppel.de

Dr. Peter H. Grassmann
Dr. Grassmann is a business ethicist, consultant and author. In the past, he worked for the Siemens AG and served as CEO of Carl Zeiss. www.grassmann.de

Ulrich Kelber, MdB
Since 2013 Ulrich Kelber is parliamentary Secretary of State in the Federal Ministry of Justice and Consumer Protection. Since 2000 he is member of the German Bundestag (SPD). From 2005 to 2013, the computer scientist was co-chairman of the SPD parliamentary group, responsible for questions of environment, nature conservation, nuclear safety, food, agriculture, consumer protection and sustainability. www.ulrich-kelber.de

Rüdiger Kruse, MdB
Since 2009 Rüdiger Kruse is member of the German Bundestag (CDU) and member of the Budget Committee. Since 2011 he is Vice Chairman of the CDU Hamburg. From 2001 to 2009 Kruse was member of the Parliament of Hamburg, where he was budget and financial spokesman of his parliamentary group as well as for sustainable development, environment and development. Since 2006 he works as the founder and CEO of the Foundation Unternehmen Wald. www.ruedigerkruse.de

Damian Ludewig
Damian Ludewig is an economist and freelance consultant. From 2008 to 2015 he was managing director of GBG. He is board member of D-EITI (Extractive Industries Transparency Initiative Germany), of the advisory board of Institut Solidarische Moderne and co-editor of "movum - Briefe zur Transformation". He has represented GBG i.a. in the board of spokespersons of the Climate Alliance Germany, the board of directors of the German League for Nature, Animal and Environment Protection (DNR) and the steering committee of the Tax Justice Network Germany.

Jürgen Maier
Since 1996 Jürgen Maier is managing director of the Forum on Environment & Development. From 1987 to 1991 he was national board member of the Green Party, from 1993 to 1996 he lead the Asia foundation as managing director. www.forumue.de

Prof. Dr. Dirk Messner
Since 2003 Prof. Messner is director of the German Development Institute (DIE) in Bonn and teaches political science at the University Duisburg-Essen. He is vice chair of the German Advisory Council on Global Change (WBGU). www.die-gdi.de

Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Methling
Prof. Methling is a member of the Party Executive Committee of the Left Party (Die Linke). From 1998 to 2006 he was Minister of the Environment and from 2002 to 2006 Vice Prime Minister of Mecklenburg-Vorpommern. From 2003 to 2007 Methling was co-chairman of the PDS.

Prof. Dr. Bernd Meyer
Professor Meyer is scientific director of the Institute of Economic Structures Research (GWS), Osnabrück. Until 2011 he was professor of economics at the University of Osnabrück. Since 1996 he was a member and from 1999 to 2002 Chairman of the Scientific Committee for Environmental Economic Accounting at the Federal Ministry for Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety. www.gws-os.com

Lisa Paus, MdB
Since 2009 Lisa Paus is member of the German Bundestag (Bündnis 90/Die Grünen), where she is spokesperson of her parliamentary group in the Finance Committee. From 1999 to 2009 Paus was member of the Abgeordnetenhaus of Berlin. www.lisa-paus.de

Prof. Dr. Dr. Franz-Josef Radermacher
Prof. Radermacher is professor for Artifical Intelligence and Databases at the University of Ulm. He is also head of the Research Institute for Applied Knowledge Processing/n (FAW/n), Ulm. Radermacher is president of Senat der Wirtschaft e.V., Bonn, vice president of the Ecosocial Forum of Europe, Vienna, and member to the Club of Rome. www.uni-ulm.de

Max Schön
Max Schön is entrepreneur in Lübeck, Germany. Since 2007 he is president of the German Association of the Club of Rome, since 2010 member of the German Council for Sustainable Development (RNE). From 2011 to 2014 Schön was chairman of the foundation 2° (German CEOs for Climate Protection), from 2010 to 2013 chairman of the supervisory board and co-founder of the DESERTEC Foundation. www.maxmax.de

Mag. Dr. Stephan Schulmeister
Dr. Schulmeister is economist at the Austrian Institute for Economic Research in Vienna. He works on the subjects of industrial economics, innovation and international competition, foreign trade and international economic relations as well as financial markets and business strategies. www.stephan.schulmeister.wifo.ac.at

PD Dr. Ulrich Thielemann
Dr. Thielemann is director of the MeM - think tank for business ethics, Berlin. From 2001 to 2010 he was co-director of the Institute for Business Ethics at the University of St. Gallen. In 2011 Thielemann was visiting professor for business ethics at the Institute of Philosophy of the University of Vienna. www.mem-wirtschaftsethik.de

Dr. Michael Thöne
Since 2005 Dr. Thöne is managing director of the Institute for Public Economics at the University of Cologne. Since 1999 he is manager of the Society for the Advancement of Research in Public Finance. www.fifo-koeln.org

Prof. Dr. Ernst Ulrich von Weizsäcker
Prof. von Weizsäcker is Co-President of the Club of Rome. From 1991 to 2000 he was president of the Wuppertal Institute for Climate, Environment and Energy, from 1998 to 2005 member of the German Bundestag (SPD). There he was i.a. chairman of the Committee on the Environment and from 1999 to 2002 chairman of the study commission on "Globalization of the world economy." From 2007 to 2014 he was co-chair of the International Resource Panel of the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP). He is founding member and was on the board of GBG from 1994 to 2000. www.ernst.weizsaecker.de

Prof. Dr. Angelika Zahrnt
Prof. Zahrnt is honorary chairwoman of Friends of the Earth Germany (BUND) and a member of the German Council for Sustainable Development (RNE). She was deputy chairwoman from 1990 to 1998 and president of the Friends of the Earth Germany from 1998 to 2007.

Beirat

Beirat des FÖS

Bundesminister a. D. Hans Eichel (Vorsitz)
Hans Eichel ist seit 2016 Vorsitzender des FÖS-Beirats. Eichel blickt auf eine lange politische Karriere zurück: Bevor er von 1999 bis 2005 Bundesminister der Finanzen der rot-grünen Bundesregierung war, amtierte er acht Jahre als Ministerpräsident in Hessen sowie 16 Jahre als Oberbürgermeister der Stadt Kassel. 2009 zog sich Eichel mit dem Ablauf der Legislaturperiode aus der aktiven Politik zurück und engagiert sich seitdem bei der Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung und im European Council on Foreign Relations. www.hans-eichel-kassel.de

Dr. Anselm Görres (Ehrenvorsitzender FÖS)
Anselm Görres ist Diplom-Volkswirt, Unternehmensberater und Geschäftsführender Gesellschafter der ZMM Zeitmanager München GmbH. Von 1984 bis 1991 war er Unternehmensberater bei McKinsey & Co. in München, von 1991 - 1993 Investor und Geschäftsführer der Unternehmensgruppe Ostberlin. Seit 1994 vermittelt und betreut er Manager auf Zeit. 1994 war er Hauptautor des FÖS-Memorandums. Er ist Gründungsvorstandsmitglied des FÖS, war von 2000 bis 2016 dessen Vorsitzender. Nach seinem Ausscheiden aus dem Vorstand wurde er zum Ehrenvorsitzenden und stellv. Beiratsvorsitzenden ernannt.

Ingrid Arndt-Brauer, MdB
Ingrid Arndt-Brauer ist seit 1999 Mitglied des Deutschen Bundestags (SPD). Dort ist sie als ordentliches Mitglied und Vorsitzende des Finanzausschusses sowie als stellvertretendes Mitglied des Haushaltsausschusses tätig. Seit 2009 ist Arndt-Brauer Vorstandsmitglied der SPD-Bundestagsfraktion. (Foto: dbt, Stella von Saldern) www.arndt-brauer.de

Prof. Dr. Hans Christoph Binswanger
Hans Christoph Binswanger ist Wirtschaftswissenschaftler und entwickelte die Idee der ökologischen Steuerreform. Bis zu seiner Emeritierung lehrte er Volkswirtschaftslehre an der Universität St. Gallen. Zeitweilig wirkte er auch als Direktor der Forschungsgemeinschaft für Nationalökonomie (FGN-HSG), ebenso als Direktor des Instituts für Wirtschaft und Ökologie (IWÖ-HSG).

Dr. Karl-Heinz Daehre
Karl-Heinz Daehre ist Landesminister a. D. (CDU). Von 2002 bis 2011 wirkte er als Minister für Bau und Verkehr sowie von 1991 bis 1994 als Minister für Raumordnung, Städtebau und Wohnungswesen des Landes Sachsen-Anhalt. Außerdem war Daehre Vorsitzender der Expertenkommission „Zukunft der Verkehrsinfrastrukturfinanzierung", die 2012 ihren Abschlussbericht vorlegte.

Dr. Henner Ehringhaus
Henner Ehringhaus war Finanzvorstand in Gesellschaften der BASF-Gruppe, Generaldirektor des Worldwide Fund for Nature (WWF), Vizepräsident der Weleda AG sowie Gründer verschiedener NGOs. Zudem war er langjähriger Aufsichtsratsvorsitzender der GLS Gemeinschaftsbank eG und ist derzeit stellvertretender Vorsitzender des Verwaltungsrats von New Energies Invest AG. Er ist ein Gründungsmitglied und ehemaliger Vorsitzender des FÖS.

Sven Giegold, MdEP
Sven Giegold ist Abgeordneter für Bündnis 90/Die Grünen, ihr Sprecher im Europäischen Parlament sowie finanz- und wirtschaftspolitischer Obmann seiner Fraktion. Er ist Mitbegründer eines Ökologischen Zentrums mit über 50 Arbeitsplätzen, der Wohnungsgenossenschaft AllerWohnen eG, Mitinitiator von finance watch und des Tax Justice Network. www.sven-giegold.de

Josef Göppel, MdB
Josef Göppel ist seit 2002 Mitglied des Deutschen Bundestages (CSU). Der gelernte Förster leitet seit 1991 den Umweltarbeitskreis der CSU und seit 2005 ist Göppel Obmann der CDU/CSU-Fraktion im Umweltausschuss. Im Bundestag setzt er sich für eine nachhaltige Politik mit Gründung des parteiübergreifenden Zukunftssalons Umwelt ein. www.goeppel.de

Dr. Peter H. Grassmann
Peter H. Grassmann ist Wirtschaftsethiker, Berater und Autor. In der Vergangenheit war er Vorsitzender des Vorstandes von Carl Zeiss sowie für die Siemens AG tätig. www.grassmann.de

Ulrich Kelber, MdB
Ulrich Kelber ist seit 2013 Parlamentarischer Staatssekretär beim Bundesminister der Justiz und für Verbraucherschutz. Seit 2000 ist er Mitglied des Deutschen Bundestages (SPD). Von 2005 bis 2013 war der Diplom-Informatiker stellvertretender Vorsitzender der SPD-Bundestagsfraktion und dabei verantwortlich für die Bereiche Umwelt, Naturschutz, Reaktorsicherheit, Ernährung, Landwirtschaft, Verbraucherschutz und Nachhaltigkeit. www.ulrich-kelber.de

Rüdiger Kruse, MdB
Rüdiger Kruse ist seit 2009 Mitglied des Deutschen Bundestages (CDU). Dort ist er als ordentliches Mitglied im Haushaltsausschuss tätig. Seit 2011 ist er stellvertretender Landesvorsitzender der CDU Hamburg. Von 2001 bis 2009 war Kruse Mitglied der Hamburgischen Bürgerschaft und dabei Fachsprecher seiner Fraktion für Haushalt und Finanzen sowie Nachhaltige Entwicklung, Umwelt- und Entwicklungspolitik. Seit 2006 wirkt er als Gründer und Vorstand der Stiftung Unternehmen Wald. www.ruedigerkruse.de

Damian Ludewig
Damian Ludewig ist Diplom-Volkswirt und freiberuflicher Berater. Von 2008 bis 2015 war er Geschäftsführer des FÖS. Er ist Mitglied im Vorstand von D-EITI (Extractive Industries Transparency Initiative Deutschland), im Kuratorium des Instituts Solidarische Moderne (ISM) und ist Mitherausgeber von "movum - Briefe zur Transformation". Er hat sich unter anderem im SprecherInnenrat der Klima-Allianz, im Präsidium des Deutschen Naturschutzrings (DNR) und im Leitungskreis des Netzwerks Steuergerechtigkeit engagiert.

Jürgen Maier
Jürgen Maier ist seit 1996 Geschäftsführer des Forums Umwelt & Entwicklung. Von 1987 bis 1991 war der Politikwissenschaftler Bundesvorstandsmitglied der Grünen, von 1993 bis 1996 Geschäftsführer der Asienstiftung. www.forumue.de

Prof. Dr. Dirk Messner
Dirk Messner ist seit 2003 Direktor des Deutschen Instituts für Entwicklungspolitik (DIE) und lehrt Politikwissenschaft an der Universität Duisburg-Essen. Er ist stellvertretender Vorsitzender des Wissenschaftlichen Beirats globale Umweltveränderungen (WBGU). www.die-gdi.de

Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Methling
Wolfgang Methling ist Mitglied des Parteivorstandes der Partei Die Linke. Von 1998 bis 2006 war er Landesumweltminister und von 2002 bis 2006 stellvertretender Ministerpräsident in Mecklenburg-Vorpommern. Von 2003 bis 2007 wirkte Methling als stellvertretender Vorsitzender der PDS.

Prof. Dr. Bernd Meyer
Bernd Meyer ist wissenschaftlicher Leiter der Gesellschaft für Wirtschaftliche Strukturforschung, Osnabrück. Bis 2011 war er ordentlicher Professor für Volkswirtschaftslehre an der Universität Osnabrück. Seit 1996 war er Mitglied und von 1999 bis 2002 Vorsitzender des Wissenschaftlichen Beirats zur Umweltökonomischen Gesamtrechnung beim Bundesministerium für Umwelt, Naturschutz und Reaktorsicherheit. www.gws-os.com

Lisa Paus, MdB
Lisa Paus ist seit 2009 Mitglied des Deutschen Bundestages (Bündnis 90/Die Grünen). Dort ist sie Obfrau ihrer Fraktion im Finanzausschuss. Von 1999 bis 2009 wirkte Paus als Mitglied des Abgeordnetenhauses von Berlin. www.lisa-paus.de

Prof. Dr. Dr. Franz-Josef Radermacher
Franz-Josef Radermacher ist Professor für Datenbanken und Künstliche Intelligenz an der Universität Ulm und ist zugleich im Vorstand des Forschungsinstituts für anwendungsorientierte Wissensverarbeitung/n (FAW/n), Ulm. Er ist Präsident des Senats der Wirtschaft e.V. in Bonn und Vizepräsident des Ökosozialen Forums Europa in Wien sowie Mitglied des Club of Rome. www.uni-ulm.de

Max Schön
Max Schön ist Unternehmer in Lübeck. Seit 2007 ist er Präsident der Deutschen Gesellschaft des Club of Rome, seit 2010 Mitglied im Rat für Nachhaltige Entwicklung der Bundesregierung. Von 2011 bis 2014 war Schön Vorstand der "Stiftung 2° - Deutsche Unternehmer für Klimaschutz", zudem von 2010 bis 2013 Vorsitzender des Aufsichtsrats und Mitgründer der DESERTEC Foundation. www.maxmax.de

Mag. Dr. Stephan Schulmeister
Stephan Schulmeister ist Ökonom am Österreichischen Institut für Wirtschaftsforschung, Wien. Er arbeitet zu den Themen Industrieökonomie, Innovation und internationaler Wettbewerb, Außenwirtschaft und internationale Wirtschaftsbeziehungen sowie Finanzmärkten und Unternehmensstrategien. www.stephan.schulmeister.wifo.ac.at

PD Dr. Ulrich Thielemann
Ulrich Thielemann ist Direktor des MeM - Denkfabrik für Wirtschaftsethik, Berlin. Von 2001 bis 2010 war er Vizedirektor des Instituts für Wirtschaftsethik der Universität St. Gallen und hatte 2011 eine Gastprofessur für Wirtschaftsethik am Institut der Philosophie der Universität Wien. www.mem-wirtschaftsethik.de

Dr. Michael Thöne
Michael Thöne ist seit 2005 Geschäftsführer des Finanzwissenschaftlichen Forschungsinstituts an der Universität zu Köln. Zudem ist der Volkswirt seit 1999 Geschäftsführer der Gesellschaft zur Förderung der finanzwissenschaftlichen Forschung e.V.. www.fifo-koeln.org

Prof. Dr. Ernst Ulrich von Weizsäcker
Ernst Ulrich von Weizsäcker ist Ko-Präsident des Club of Rome. Der Physiker war Direktor bei der UNO, von 1991 bis 2000 Präsident des Wuppertal Instituts für Klima, Umwelt, Energie und von 1998 bis 2005 Mitglied des Deutschen Bundestages (SPD). Dort war er als Vorsitzender des Umweltausschusses tätig. Von 2007 bis 2014 war er Leiter des International Resource Panels von UNEP. Von Weizsäcker ist ehemaliger Vorstand und Gründungsmitglied des FÖS. www.ernst.weizsaecker.de

Prof. Dr. Angelika Zahrnt
Angelika Zahrnt ist Ehrenvorsitzende des Bund für Umwelt und Naturschutz Deutschland (BUND) e.V. und Mitglied des Rates für Nachhaltige Entwicklung. Die Volkswirtin und Systemanalytikerin war von 1990 bis 1998 als stellvertretende Vorsitzende, von 1998 bis 2007 als Vorsitzende des BUND tätig.